庇护和拘留驱逐:

寻求庇护者必须证明, 由于过去受到迫害或有充分理由担心因种族而受到迫害, 他或她不能或不愿返回原籍国, 也不能或不愿利用其保护、宗教、国籍、属于某一特定社会群体或政治见解。ina § 101(a)(42)(A);8 c. f. r. 1208.13(b)。

重要的是要提供详细资料, 说明你的索赔是由于法律规定的理由之一和迫害。只有有了有效的法律代理, 你的庇护申请才能符合严格的法律标准。

庇护和暂停驱逐可以肯定地提交给庇护办公室, 也可以在驱逐程序期间向移民法官提出辩护。有关索赔的进一步分析, 请参阅 "庇护和暂停遣返"。(将 "庇护和暂停驱逐" 链接到 "庇护和暂停驱逐" 下的另一页)


不被驅逐

取消永久居民的搬迁资格要求要有资格取消搬迁, 您必须表明:

取消删除–常见问题

取消取消驱逐–自由裁量因素
要打赢取消遣返的申请, 你必须说服移民法官, 你的积极股票超过任何不利因素。根据移民上诉委员会的资料, 常见的正面和负面股票包括:
取消取消删除的正股票

取消删除–底线
如果你有绿卡, 但现在必须去移民法院的驱逐听证会, 取消驱逐可能有助于防止你被驱逐出境。如果您想知道取消驱逐是否可以防止您被驱逐出境, 请打电话给我。我很乐意和你见面, 讨论你的移民案件。

取消非永久性居民的搬迁资格要求

要符合取消删除的条件, 您必须表明:

什么是 "特殊和极不寻常的困难"?

大量取消遣返案件的理由是, 申请人已表明, 将他们驱逐出境会造成困难, 但困难不符合 "特殊和极其不寻常的困难" 的标准。

为了达到这一标准, 你必须表明, 你的驱逐会导致你的孩子、配偶或父母遭受困难, 这将大大低于通常期望被驱逐到欠发达国家的困难。在这个限制性标准下, 仅仅是经济困难是不符合条件的。

取消删除的底线

如果你有一个即将在移民法院举行的移民法官听证会, 你没有一个 绿卡 /永久居民身份, 取消驱逐可能会保护您免受驱逐出境。如果您认为您可能有取消遣返的理由或对其有疑问, 请致电我们的办公室寻求进一步的帮助。


212(c) 豁免:

申请和获得212c 豁免的要求包括:

如果您已经离开, 并且目前在美国境外, 您在被驱逐或遣返后非法返回, 或者您在美国, 而没有被接纳或假释, 您就没有资格获得212c 豁免。

需要注意的是, 212c 的豁免是一种自由裁量。因此, 即使您有资格申请212c 豁免, 移民法官将根据具体情况决定是否给予您此救济。法官将仔细研究申请中积极因素与消极因素的平衡。积极因素包括在美国的家庭关系、在美国长期居住、如果你被驱逐, 你和你的家人会有困难、财产所有权、商业关系、证明了价值和对社区的服务、真正的康复和证明你是性格好的人消极因素可能包括你的犯罪记录的性质、严重性和近期, 以及你是一个道德高尚的人的证据。


212(h) 刑事豁免

212(h) 放弃是放弃卖淫、15岁以上的犯罪、道德败坏的罪行和简单拥有大麻。

根据 212(h) 豁免, 有两个不同的门槛, 一个只需要证明康复, 另一个也必须证明极端困难的父母, 配偶, 儿子或女儿是美国公民或美国的合法永久居民。因此, 了解要求和不可受理的种类, 在申请这种放弃时可能是有害的。

放弃是一个精心打造的过程, 它需要详细的信息和周到的准备。重要的是, 你要聘请一名称职的律师, 以简洁而令人信服的方式呈现信息, 以便在法庭上呈现。


212(i) 和 237(a)(1)(H) 欺诈豁免

此豁免适用于获得 移民签证状态调整 通过欺诈或虚假陈述。只有在驱逐程序中的人才能申请。

第237条内容如下:

"(a)可携带的外国人类别.-任何进入美国并被接纳到美国的外国人 (包括外国人船员), 如果该外国人属于下列一类或一类可驱逐的外国人, 应根据总检察长的命令被驱逐:

(1) 在入境或调整身份或违反身份时不予受理。

(a) 不可受理的外国人.-在入境或调整身份时属于一个或多个类别的外国人在当时的法律中不可受理的任何外国人, 均可被驱逐.。

(H) 对其他方面的豁免授权。本款关于将外国人驱逐到美国境内的规定, 理由是他们在被接纳为 212(a)(6)(C)(i) 节所述外国人时不可受理, 无论是故意的还是无辜的, 都可以在对于任何外国人 ((第 (4)(D) 款所述的外国人除外), 如下列情况, 可放弃总检察长的酌处权:

(一) 5a/(i) 是美国公民或合法获准在美国永久居留的外国人的配偶、父母、儿子或女儿;和

(ii) 5 a/持有移民签证或同等证件, 在接纳时可接受美国, 但212(a 节第 (5)(A) 款和第 (7)(A) 款规定的不可受理理由除外, 这些理由涉及是欺诈或虚假陈述的直接结果。

(二) 5a/5aa/s. 是妇女协会的自我请愿者。

根据本项准予放弃因欺诈或虚假陈述而被删除的行为, 也应以这种欺诈或虚假陈述直接造成的不可受理为由放弃驱逐 "。

有资格获得 237(a)(1)(H) 申请此豁免的人

(1) 必须有合格的亲属--配偶、父母、美国公民或永久居民的子女;
(2) 必须持有移民签证或 "同等证件"--非移民和未经检查入境的个人不可用;
(3)"otherwise 在入院时" 可予接纳 ","
(4) 应谨慎行使自由裁量权。

关于给予酌情救济的有关询问 "

同样, 不需要表现出艰辛!

237(a)(1)(H) 不仅放弃排除理由, 而且放弃潜在的欺诈行为, 并使豁免收件人从其首次进入时起具有 lpr 状态 (绿卡)。


237(a)(1)(H) 节豁免的适用性

欺诈豁免不适用于 cimt 对婚姻欺诈的定罪。tima 的问题, 26 i & n 12月.

禁止的动议: 如果一个人违反宪法正当程序被执法部门或移民拘留, 也许可以要求移民法院压制证据, 终止移民法院的诉讼程序。

禁止的动议旨在压制政府非法取得的实际证据, 从而终止诉讼程序。如果执法部门或移民和海关执法局 (ice) 官员以违宪或其他非法的方式拘留您, 则在您的移民程序中, 禁止入境动议可能是将您驱逐出境的有效辩护理由。这就需要进行详细的事实分析, 导致非法拘留和非法获取证据。请联系律师进行评估, 以评估是否应在您的案件中提出禁止的动议。

如果你正在进行驱逐程序, 或者如果你被拘留, 我们可以帮助你有效地抵御诉讼程序, 并向移民法官提出救济, 以争取你的权利。要获得更多信息, 只需立即致电408.418.4648 或 408.459.5858!

返回到顶部

Asylum and Withholding of Removal:

An asylum seeker must establish that he or she is unable or unwilling to return to, and is unable or unwilling to avail himself or herself of the protection of, their country of origina because of past persecution or a well-founded fear of persecution on account of race, religion, nationality, membership in a particular social group, or political opinion. INA § 101(a)(42)(A); 8 C.F.R. § 1208.13(b).

It is important to present detailed information to delineate your claim that is on account of one of the statutorily prescribed grounds and persecution. Only with effective legal representation, can your asylum claim be meeting the stringent legal standards.

Asylum and Withholding of Removal can be filed affirmatively with the Asylum Office or defensively with the Immigration Judge during the removal proceeding. For further analysis of the claim, please see “Asylum and Withholding of Removal.” (Link “Asylum and Withholding of Removal” to the other page under Visa “Asylum and Withholding of Removal”)


Cancellation of Removal

Cancellation of Removal for Permanent Resident– Eligibility Requirements To qualify for cancellation of removal, you must show that:

Cancellation of Removal – Common Issues

Cancellation of Removal – Discretionary Factors
To win a case for cancellation of removal, you must persuade an Immigration Judge that your positive equities outweigh any adverse factors. According to the Board of Immigration Appeals, common positive and negative equities include:
Positive Equities for Cancellation of Removal

Cancellation of Removal – Bottom line
If you have a green card but now have to go a deportation hearing to Immigration Court, Cancellation of Removal may help prevent your deportation. If you are wondering whether cancellation of removal might prevent you from being deported, please call me. I’d be happy to meet with you to discuss your immigration case.

Cancellation of Removal for Non Permanent Resident – Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for cancellation of removal, you must show that:

What is “exceptional and extremely unusual hardship”?

Plenty of cancellation of removal cases have been denied on the grounds that the applicant have shown that their deportation would cause hardship but that the hardship doesn’t meet the standard of “exceptional and extremely unusual hardship.”

To meet this standard, you must show that your deportation would cause your child, spouse or parent to suffer a hardship, which would be substantially worse than the hardship normally expected from deportation to an underdeveloped country. Mere economic hardship wouldn’t qualify under this restrictive standard.

Bottom line on Cancellation of Removal

If you have an upcoming hearing in Immigration Court before an Immigration Judge and you don’t have a green card / permanent resident status, cancellation of removal might protect your from deportation. If you think you might have a case for cancellation of removal or have questions about it, please call our office to seek for further assistance.


212(c) Waiver:

The requirements to apply for and receive a 212c waiver include:

You are ineligible to receive a 212c waiver if you have departed and are currently outside the US, you have illegally returned after deportation or removal, or you are present in the US without having been admitted or paroled.

It is important to note that the 212c waiver is a discretionary. Therefore, even if you are eligible to apply for a 212c waiver, the Immigration Judge will decide on a case-by-case basis whether or not to grant you this relief. The Judge will look closely at the balance of positive factors versus negative factors in your application. Positive factors include family ties in the US, long time residence in the US, hardship to you and your family if you were deported, property ownership, business ties, demonstrated value and service to the community, genuine rehabilitation and evidence that you are person of good character Negative factors can include the nature, seriousness and recency of your criminal record and evidence that you are a person of bad moral character.


212(h) Criminal Waivers of Criminal Inadmissibility

212(h) waiver is waiver for prostitution, crimes more than 15 years old, crimes of moral turpitude, and simple possession of marijuana.

Under 212(h) waiver, there are two different thresholds, one only needs to prove rehabilitee and the other one must also prove extreme hardship to a parent, spouse, son or daughter who is a US citizen or Legal Permanent Resident of the United States. Therefore, understanding the requirement and the kind of inadmissibility can be detrimental in applying for such a waiver.

Waiver is a carefully crafted process, it requires detailed information and thoughtful preparation. It is important that you retain a competent attorney to present the information in a concise yet compelling manner to present in court.


212(i) and 237(a)(1)(H) Fraud Waivers

This waiver is available to individuals who gained an immigrant visa or adjustment of status by fraud or misrepresentation. Only a person in removal proceedings could apply for it.

Section 237 reads:

(a) Classes of Deportable Aliens.-Any alien (including an alien crewman) in and admitted to the United States shall, upon the order of the Attorney General, be removed if the alien is within one or more of the following classes of deportable aliens: 

(1) Inadmissible at time of entry or of adjustment of status or violates status.- 

(A) Inadmissible aliens.-Any alien who at the time of entry or adjustment of status was within one or more of the classes of aliens inadmissible by the law existing at such time is deportable…

(H) WAIVER AUTHORIZED FOR CERTAIN MISREPRESENTATIONS. — The provisions of this paragraph relating to the removal of aliens within the United States on the ground that they were inadmissible at the time of admission as aliens described in section 212(a)(6)(C)(i), whether willful or innocent, may, in the discretion of the Attorney General, be waived for any alien (other than an alien described in paragraph (4)(D)) who-

 (i) 5a/    (I) is the spouse, parent, son, or daughter of a citizen of the United States or of an alien lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence; and

 (II) 5a/ was in possession of an immigrant visa or equivalent document and was otherwise admissible to the United States at the time of such admission except for those grounds of inadmissibility specified under paragraphs (5)(A) and (7)(A) of section 212(a) which were a direct result of that fraud or misrepresentation.

 (ii) 5a/ 5aa/ is a VAWA self-petitioner.

A waiver of removal for fraud or misrepresentation granted under this subparagraph shall also operate to waive removal based on the grounds of inadmissibility directly resulting from such fraud or misrepresentation.”

To qualify for 237(a)(1)(H) an applicant for this waiver

(1) must have a qualifying relative – the spouse, parent, a child who is US citizen or permanent resident;
(2) must have a possessed an immigrant visa or “equivalent document,” – not available for non-immigrants and individuals who entered without an inspection;
(3)”otherwise ” admissible “at the time of admission,”
(4) deserves favorable exercise of discretion.

Relevant inquiries for grant of discretionary relief”

Again, no need to demonstrate hardship!

237(a)(1)(H) waives not only the exclusion ground but also the underlying fraud and renders the waiver recipient an LPR status (green card) from the time of his initial entry.


Applicability of section 237(a)(1)(H) waiver

Inapplicability of Fraud Waiver to CIMT conviction for marriage fraud. Matter of Tima, 26 I&N Dec .

Motion to Suppress: If an individual was detained by law enforcement or immigration in violation of constitutional due process, it might be possible to request the Immigration Court to suppress the evidence and to terminate Immigration Court proceedings.

Motion to Suppress aims to suppress actual evidence that was obtained illegally by the government, therefore terminating the proceeding. A motion to suppress may be a valid defense to removal in your immigration proceedings if law enforcement or Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) officials treated you in an unconstitutional or otherwise illegal manner in detaining you. This requires detailed factual analysis that lead to the unlawful detention and illegal obtaining of the evidence. Please contact the attorney for an assessment whether a Motion to Suppress shall be filed in your case.

If you are in a deportation proceeding or if you are detained, we can help you effectively fend against the proceeding and raise reliefs with the Immigration Judge to fight for your rights. To gain more information, simply call 408.418.4648 or 408.459.5858 today!

Back to top